First try at knit curtains

I’ve never been able to knit or crochet. The women in my family tried over the years, but I just couldn’t get working with hook or needles. That’s changed now.

I recently discovered knitting with the Knifty Knitter loom. Projects work up fairly quickly. I haven’t experimented with fancy stitches, but what I have learned works well for RV curtains.

The original orange curtains on our 1979 Travco were sun-rotted and tattered from 40 years of use. Every RV renovation I’ve seen has shown creative curtain ideas – prints, ruffles, lace trim and more – but I hadn’t seen any knit curtains.

The first set was for the front window surround. They were fairly easy as they attached to the rails with standard curtain hooks. The second set I tackled was for the back window. They were tricky as the originals snapped onto a top and bottom rail.

The best solution I came up with was to repurpose the original snaps into the new knitted curtains. I clipped them out of the old curtains and with lots of clothespins and fabric glue, I managed to attach them to the knitting.

The project came out satisfactorily. The first curtain came up a couple inches short, as I did not figure in enough extra length where the snap-tape was pleated. I’m adding an extra four inches to the second curtain to compensate for this. Hopefully the faux pas won’t show much.

I worked this pattern in two Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick colors – Sequoia and Hudson Bay.

I’ll take you through the steps in photographs:

Start of the project before any gluing. The knit curtain, strip of snaps and clothespins.
Start of the project before any gluing. The knit curtain, strip of snaps and clothespins.
Partially finished. Gluing the snaps to the curtain top. Clamping with clothespins.
Partially finished. Gluing the snaps to the curtain top. Clamping with clothespins.
Project all glued and clamped. Left it to dry overnight.
Project all glued and clamped. Left it to dry overnight.
All finished! Can't wait to put them up until next spring
All finished! Can’t wait to put them up until next spring
My one big error. Didn't measure correctly and came up short. Hope to come up with some simple way to correct this.
My one big error. Didn’t measure correctly and came up short. Hope to come up with some simple way to correct this.
One thought on “First try at knit curtains

  1. I’ve never heard of knit curtains, but they seem like they would be a great idea, if for no other reason than keeping it nice and warm on cool summer nights (or winter ones, for that matter). Can’t wait to see pics of them installed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

